Follow

Just when I was feeling low, my mother said to me, "I really don't believe God gives you more than you can handle." I sure hope she's right. There are days when I wonder.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
My husband has a Down's brother who is fortunate enough to live in a group home. The only reason he got in is because his brother and sister-in-law, who are both doctors, donate their time to the care of those in the home. So I know we are lucky. But, there are community programs for day care that might help ease your burden. Getting him out of the house for periods of time may make this easier for you.

I am not a doctor but my guess is that your brother-in-law really is reacting to the death of his mother. The mentally handicapped can be extremely sensitive to situations and after all, this was probably the person who dedicated her life to keeping him at home. That's a big loss.

You are a very giving person to take this on and I wish you well. Look into the day care for some relief. Look up your state's Dept. of the Mentally Retarded and Develomental Disabilities. They should be able to point you to more local help.

Extra prayers for you!
(0)