Follow

My mother is 88 and I'm her 71 year old daughter! My parents were married 71 years when he passed away over 2 years ago! I'm an only child as my brother died at 19! I've been doing their grocery shopping for at least 4 years. I've hired caregivers for 4 years. Thankful they had a good savings because her money is running out!
Mom was diagnosed with mantle cell lymphoma over 3 years ago. She refuses to leave her home but is afraid to stay alone at night. She's never stayed a night by herself in her entire life. Therefore, a caregiver stays. My husband is diabetic with many health issues and I have back problems!
My mother has some dementia, lymphoma and a fall risk. I'm totally exhausted and considered an assisted for mom but she refuses to go. Also, if she lives much longer her finances are low. She's contrary and unappreciative! I sometimes just want to run away. I retired 11 years ago and never imagined my retirement being like this.
Mom is under hospice care and I'm very thankful for their help!

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Hang in there, Wiska! If Mom is now on hospice care it is likely caring for her will be over soon.
(0)

Thanks jennegibbs! She's still doing well! The hard part is her stubbornness!
(1)

If you live in the US, she (which means you) can apply for Medicaid and other support programs in the state where she lives.

Dementia is a curse on humanity. It's a bigger curse on the caregivers than the patient I think.

Hospice care may mean the end is coming, or it may not. It might mean there just isn't any point in trying to make anything better. Just comfortable.

As far as Assisted living goes, people still have to do a lot of things for themselves in assisted living. It might not be the right option. You can't need 24/7 supervision in assisted living. Certain cognitive scores mean constant supervision is required, so those folks go to a different unit: Skilled nursing/care center/memory care units.