Follow

I have been caring for my husband for the past 5 yrs. now.. he has kidney failure. on treatments for his illnessin and out of the hospital alot. i am the only person he has.some days i feel like im loosing my mind.. very hard person to deal with since he has been ill. im having a melt down

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Dear Caregiver . . . please find some time for yourself. You can't help your husband if you are a mess. Are there blocks of time where he is being treated that you can take some much needed time for yourself? For example, if he goes to dialysis, that is several hours for you to unwind. Do you have a friend that can help out? The help can be spending time with you, even if it is at home. A cup of tea and snack with a friend can force you to relax. Tell us more so the community can share ideas.
(1)

You need to take your husband-free times. Perhaps you could schedule them like regular appointments. I don't know if your husband qualifies for any financial assistance or if he qualifies for any special programs. geewiz had wonderful advice on taking time for yourself when hubby is doing the dialysis or in the hospital. People need time apart. He may appreciate it as much as you would.
(1)