Follow

I have been caregiving for 8 years now. First 6 with Mom with diabetes, CHF and dementia who died feb 2017 and now dad who now too is presenting as Alzheimer's. I am 52 and there is NOBODY else to do a thing to help. I am single and am an only child. He was always sweet (my mom was nuts) but he too is becoming nuts with his dementia. Screaming in his sleep, waking me in the middle of the night to scream at me... things he NEVER did, ever. It's sundowning. But I am tired... really tired, and I can feel my own health suffering. Sad thing is I have a fear (as in phobia) of docs. So I don't go in. And even if I did, there is nobody to help ME!!! I take care of everything and somehow got left on the planet alone with no support. If I had something bad... nobody, and I mean nobody could come and help me. It sounds crazy, but my two best friends died this year too suddenly at 50 and 51. How did this happen? I set out to be a good guy with mom 8 years ago.... Now I am alone on the planet and in a mess. (and broke to boot!)

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Only one thing pops in my head. For me I try to just give it to God. I do what I think is the thing to do and some days I'm better at it than others. The rest is up to the man upstairs.
(1)

I feel your pain. I really do! I'm pretty much in the same boat. Except I have 3 elderly people and a super old deaf and blind dog to take care of. That little dog was helping me keep it together. She was my rock. She still is in many ways except now I have to help her with everything including putting on little doggie diapers. Otherwise your situation is the same as mine. I wish I had a magical solution for you. I wish I had one for myself. But I don't. I can only commiserate. You aren't alone.
(1)