Follow

For CWillie and other Canadians:

Generally, what could I anticipate would be required to emigrate to Canada? I suppose Medicare wouldn't cover my health care; would I be eligible to qualify for any Canadian program after a given residence length, or would it all be self pay?

I assume that other than some frigid areas it would be comparable to a retiree emigrating to a nice warm island, or another area. Other than reading Peter Mayle's experiences in Provence, and the ex pat community of Stein, Fitzgerald and others, I have little knowledge of what ex pats face when moving out of the US.

Obviously there are the issues of currency conversion, establishing a new medical team, finding a home, and more. But are Americans welcome, or unwanted? Any comparisons to health care in the States? To general cost of living? Any other suggestions?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
1 2 3 4
GA,

I love fabric shops. They are fun to visit. I had to stop buying though! Hahaha. It’s easy to get carried away. I don’t know anyone who didn’t have a large stash of extra fabrics and notions.
(0)

Karsten, since my hubby and I are NEVER politically correct, we thought it was very funny! Still laughing...
(3)

NeedHelp, adding to my wardrobe will give me an excuse to visit fabric shops more often,  and how can that be anything but pleasurable?  

Seriously, we've had some pretty cold weather here, although the temps or wind chills haven't dropped below zero that often as they did when winters were consistently cold.
(1)

GA,

You will have to add to your winter wardrobe if you move to Canada. I hardly have any winter clothes. We have such a short winter. You will need hats, boots, gloves and long underwear too!
(0)

Karsten,

It may be time to clean out your mailbox. The trash seems to be piling up 😊.

Do you find this type of humor as funny? Keep your day job. Don’t think you would be very successful as a stand up comic.
(1)