Follow

I have been working for agencies and different offices for 7-8 years now, and when I’m abused by clients for example: being sexually harassed, yelled at, insulted the office could care less they blow it off and keep sending caregivers to the abusive client and pretend I never said anything . They just want us to take it and not bother them with these things.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Bridger, I wish there was a place like yours when my parents and sister were alive.   You sound like a very progressive businesswoman.
(1)

Bridger,

How encouraging! That is so lovely to hear. I hope that the OP finds a place such as yours to work at. It’s sad that she was in a place that wasn’t run properly.
(1)

Not all assisted living/skilled nursing facilities are evil places. My husband and father own a facility. We are in a small rural county and are the only facility in our small town. We have zero tolerance for neglect, abuse or inadequate care of residents. Our lowest level employees start at $15.00 per hour. They have the same health insurance that my husband and I have, along with paid time off, educational benefits and 401K plan. Prior to opening the closest facility was 33 miles away. We are a private pay non-profit. We have a higher than legally required staff to resident ratio. We also have RN’s on duty 24/7. We have a physicians assistant on duty 12 hours daily/7 days. We have staff doctors on site and on call 24/7. All live within 8 miles of the facility. I’m sorry that so many Posters have problems. I know all of our residents and many of their families. If they have a question or concern they can ask and get an honest answer from any number of people on our staff. If you have a problem, report to the state nursing home board or any other board in your state for professionals. Write a letter to the editor of the local paper. Reputable facilities will pay attention to complaints and try to rectify the problem.
(4)