Follow

Read an article that as a retired nurse I for myself totally agree with and have seen this.It is in the July 2014 issue of Reader's Digest and is on page 54 title "How Doctors Die". It might be helpful to those of you that are at present having to deal with some difficult decisions. I know for myself I am not going to have "everything done" because as a nurse I know what that means. However, your average citizen who is not in the medical field has no idea what that means just like I wouldn't know how someone is an accountant etc, it isn't what I did for a living.People please talk to your loved ones before something happens, while things are calm and quiet about what they want done, it can save you a lot of family squabbling, guilt and grief, The article is brief but it is a good discussion starter.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Good advise, Texarkana. I had put together a large notebook for my parents to fill out with all sorts of questions relating to their health care, their final wishes, etc. Plus plastic sleeves in the notebook to place their Medical Directive, their Wills, the Deed to the house, title to the car, etc.

My Dad keeps saying he wants to be buried in Iowa, and I think "well that narrows it down"... but I really do need more information.

These questions I had typed up and put in the notebook were ones I gathered from the book "Because You Can't Take it With You: How to Get Your Affairs in Order to Protect Yourself & Your Loved Ones" by Marguerite Smolen. I even gave my parents a copy of said book for Dad to read. I just hope Dad got past the first chapter.

I also gave a similar notebook to my significant other for him to fill out, and I have my own notebook, too.
(0)

Found the article online:

http://www.rd.com/health/healthcare/how-doctors-choose-to-die/.