Follow

I am a student and as my final year project I am going to create a tool/device to aid older people after a loss and older people with dementia that would be used in the home. With the aim of preventing Dementia if possible. If you could complete this short survey it would be much appreciated. I would like to know your views on recent stress and bereavement. Could this be a factor in causing or enhancing Dementia symptoms? and also in your opinion does music help when caring for dementia patients

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/V2X832F

*Copy and paste the link into the search bar, or right click and go to link

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
I think that this person should really be immersed in the aspects of the study they propose. A computer engineering student is a far cry from someone in the medical field. Why not have a dual degree? Enroll in basic medical course work, which will make your study a lot easier to do and be able to pin point your primary concerns about aging, decline, grief, and loss. Volunteer in hospice, elder care facilities, and start understanding the nature of what you are trying to research. Especially in light of trying to automate correct responses to an inanimate object/voice command to people to take meds or alter behavior with a computer program. People in their 80s and 90s were alive when television was a novelty, air travel a rarified novelty and some may not have had electricity. They may not care to be spoken to by an Alexis type monitor. Heck, I can't get my dementia family member to take their meds on time. There may be a better way to use the computer aspect of this and it's basic data mining. Tedious, long and thankless. Consider maybe one or two primary aspects of decline/dementia you're interested in, then off to the Googles and see what's there. Then with your new, basic medical training, you may have a better idea on how to intergrate your research and basic available data.