tammyrussell34 Posted January 2011

My mom does not have life insurance.

Follow

My mom does not have life insurance . Not sure where to look. I've talked to some but wasn't sure. I really need insurance for my mother. If something was to happen not sure what I will do at a last min thing. Not to mention my mom doesn't want insurance and she doesn't understand how important it is for her. We talked about it last year sometime she don't get it. I may try again and have a talk with her once I find someone to talk to.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.

Comments

Show:
Hi Tammy. I'm a life insurance agent with the Mutual of Omaha. What state do you live in? Perhaps, I may be of service to you.
(0)

Hi Tammy. I'm a life insurance agent with the Mutual of Omaha. What state do you live in? Perhaps, I may be of service to you.
(1)

OnlyDau64 May 2012
Tammy, why do you think your mom needs life insurance? Does she have income that is supporting someone else that would need to be replaced when she dies?
(0)

jeannegibbs May 2012
I have the same question as OnlyDau64. Why does she need life insurance? At this point might the money be better spent on pre-paid funeral expenses, or long-term care insurance? Life Insurance will not benefit your mother at all -- it is for the sake of her dependents. Who is dependent on her now, financially?

If you are just worried about handling last-minute expenses like the funeral, talk to her about a specific policy for that. Many elders are concerned about who is going to pay for their funerals or creamations and memorial services. It might be reassuring to her to have that taken care of.
(1)

oldcodger2 May 2012