Follow

I just want to thank everyone for taking the time to answer our questions.

I'm new at carving for my dad. Today it will be one week. Moving him from out of state after my mom died and getting him into what seems to be, a loving facility has been one of, if not the most stressful weeks of my life.

And I know there will be more obstacles ahead of us. But I've been reading through this forum for the past couple of days, and I have read so many helpful answers. It's helping me get prepared mentally for situations that might come up and realize that I'm not alone. Also, it could be a lot worse.

I believe I have found the ticket. Where I can come to if I'm overwhelmed and just need to vent. If I need answers to questions that none of my friends know how to answer. I'm amazed at how quick everyone is to share their advice, their experiences and to help uplift people they have never met.

So, thank you, and God bless you all.

You’re very welcome. I wish you and your family all the best.
(1)

I think if people can wrap there head around the fact that they have to leave there home someday. They can really enjoy a new adventure and new friends and people to do things with.

So many just get stuck and can't even imagine leaving there home. It's so hard on them when it doesn't have to be. Glad your dad is doing well.
(1)

One thing I've learned from everyone already is to set my boundaries. 
I know that I have a lot to do, but my hands are tied until the POA papers are signed next week. 
I took dad to get groceries today, and when they were unpacked, I asked him if he'd like to go downstairs in the common area to play some cards until 11 am. I told him Saturdays are my cleaning days so I can't usually come on Saturday.
While we were playing cards, I knew people would be around and I wanted to give them a heads up that dad is deaf, he's not ignoring you (: